Hindu Universe > Scriptures > Agamas


Explore this
topic in detail

this page

Comment on this page

Print this

Create / 
Join Club




Online Books

Hindu Web


Book- store

Related Sections

The Agamas are sectarian scriptures dealing with the worship of a particular aspect of God and prescribing detailed courses of discipline for the worshipper.

The Agmas, also known as Tantras are the sectarian scriptures of the three major theological traditions of Hindu dharma, namely, Vaishnavism, Shaivism and Shaktism.  The Vaishnava-Agmas adore the Ultimate Reality as Vishnu, the Shiva-Agmas revere the Ultimate Reality as Lord Shiva, and the Shakti-Agmas venerate the Ultimate Reality as Devine Mother of the universe.  

Each Agama consists of four parts.  The first part includes the philosophical and spiritual knowledge. The second part covers the  yoga and the mental discipline. The third part specifies rules for the construction of temples and for sculpting and carving the figures of deities for worship in the temples.  The fourth part of the Agamas includes rules pertaining to the observances of religious rites, rituals, and festivals.

Back ] Up ] Next ]