Hindu Universe > Scriptures > Upanishads > Brahad Aranyaka Upanishad

Brahad Aranyaka Upanishad

Explore this
topic in detail

this page

Comment on this page

Print this

Create / Join Club





Hindu Web



Related Sections
The Brhad-Aranyaka Upanishad which is generally recognized to be the most important of the Upanishads forms part of the Satapatha Brahmana. It consists of three Kandas or sections, the Madhu Kanda which expounds the teachings of the basic identity of the individual and the Universal Self, the Yajnavalkya or the Muni Kanda which provides the philosophical justification of the teaching of Khila Kanda, which deals with certain modes of worship and meditation, upasana, answering roughly to the three stages of religious life, sravana, hearing the upadesha or the teaching, manana, logical reflection, upapatti and nididhyasana or contemplative meditation.

Of the two recensions of the Satapatha Brahmana, the Kanva and Madhyandina, Sankara follows the former.

Source S. Radhakrishnan : The Principal Upanishads

Up ] Next ]

Six Great Sayings (Mahvakyas) From Upanishads
Brhad-Aranyaka Upanishad
Chandogya Upanishad
Isa Upanishad
Aitareya Upanishad
Taittiriya Upanishad
Katha Upanishad
Prasna Upanishad
Kena Upanishad
Mundaka Upanishad
Mandukya Upanishad
Other early Upanishads are the
Kausitaki-Brahmana Upanishad
Maitri Upanishad
Subala Upanishad
Jabala Upanishad
Paingala Upanishad
Kaivalya Upanishad
Vajrasucika Upanishad
Mahanaryana Upanishad
Arsheya Upanishad
Bashkala Upanishad
Arsheya Upanishad
Chagala Upanishad
Shaunaka Upanishad
Nilarudra Upanishad