Hindu Universe > Quick Intro.

Hindu and Hindu Dharma

Essential Elements

Major Doctrines

Concept of God

Hindu Trinity

Four Ends of Hindu Life

Three Debts During Life

Ten Great Observances

Four Stages of Hindu Life

Sacred Symbol - AUM


Harmony of religions : All true religions lead to the same goal. Revere all great teachers and prophets of all religions, respect their teachings as the same eternal truths adopted to the needs of different peoples at different times. Hindus do not seek to convert.

Incarnation : Whenever righteousness declines and unrighteousness rises, God incarnates himself on earth to restore righteousness.

Non Violence : Non-violence, non-injury and non-killing (Ahimsa).

Doctrine of Karma : Belief in the doctrine of Karma and rebirth. Ignorance viewed as cause of bondage.

Unity of Existence : All things and beings are the manifestation of one Supreme Being. When the mind is transcendent through spiritual experience, the Universal spirit is seen as the sole essence of the universe.

Dharma : Righteousness and good moral and ethical practices in accordance with the scriptures. Includes all duties -- individual, social and religious.

Humanism : Equality of all human beings, regardless of caste, color and creed. Respect and reverence for womanhood.

Atman : Essence of all living things and beings is Atman, infinite and eternal, unchanging and indivisible. True nature of the individual is the Atman, which is one with the underlying reality of the Universe. There is but one being, one reality "Thou art That".

Reality : The Supreme Reality (Brahman) is both formless and with form, impersonal and personal, transcendent and imminent. The supreme reality becomes manifest in various aspects and forms, and is known by various names. There are various ways by which individuals, in accordance with his/her temperament can realize God.

Moksha : Freedom from cycle of birth and death. To make an individual a better person, so that he/she can live harmoniously in this world and seek union with God.

Authority : Non-reliance on a single book. Has many sacred writings Vedas, Upanishads, Brahma sutra, Sutras, Bhagwad Gita etc.