Hindu Universe > Quick Intro.

Hindu and Hindu Dharma

Essential Elements

Major Doctrines

Concept of God

Hindu Trinity

Four Ends of Hindu Life

Three Debts During Life

Ten Great Observances

Four Stages of Hindu Life

Sacred Symbol - AUM


Based on the principle of progressive evolution of soul.

Doctrine of four ends forms the basis of individual and social life of a Hindu.

The four Ends are :
  • Dharma
    • Righteousness and good moral and ethical practices in accordance with the scriptures. Includes all duties -- individual, social and religious

  • Artha (Wealth):
    • Not an end in itself but basic necessity, one must earn enough wealth in order to raise a family and maintain a household
    • Wealth must not be for hoarding but for sharing with those who are poor, handicapped or less fortunate
    • Dharma and Artha must be coordinated in order to earn decent living while recognizing that artha is not an ultimate end of Hindu religious life

  • Kama
    • Denotes the wants and desires of body and mind in the form of desires, passions, emotions and drives
    • Satisfaction of genuine human desires such as art, music, savory food, sports, conjugal love, filial affections, clothes, jewelry etc. are not suppressed but must be satisfied in a controlled fashion
    • Through controlled satisfaction of genuine desires and passions, an individual becomes free from kama.
    • Freedom from sensual desires and passion is necessary for attaining moksha and is made possible by the proper coordination of dharma, artha, and kama

  • Moksha
    • Freedom from cycle of birth and death. To make an individual a better person, so that he/she can live harmoniously in this world and seek union with God.